T Nation

Special Olympics PL

I’m just about to start coaching a special olympics powerlifting club. I have very little experience with special needs people and almost all of my training has been as an olympic lifter. They will only train once a week, which makes their programs challenging to write. Anything to help me with this would be very appreciated.

Nice handle. :slight_smile:

My wife has coached various Special Olympics teams. I’ll ask her for any advice that she has. Do you have any specific questions?

You’ll be amazed at the effort these athletes put forth. You won’t let yourself slack off again after seeing it.

I don’t have any advice for ya on training those kids but I want to thank you for doing it. I’ve been involved with Special Olympics for the last few years. A good friend of mine has a nephew born with Downs. He is an incredible kid and watching him compete at the events and help out at the dragstrip just tears at your heart. You’re doing a great thing.

One training day per week? Sounds like your best plan then is to focus on teaching them correct form and little “tricks” to increase lifts and let their natural strength take care of the rest.

I reviewed some Dave Tate videos a while back where he demonstrates many of these tricks, like positioning yourself on the bench in a way that shortens the ROM and allows for instantly bigger numbers. Good info if you don’t already know it.

Here’s the review.

You can find some of these tips in his T-mag articles if you don’t have time to order the vids.

Westside!

Outstanding!I know one thing,regardless of what you teach them,you will learn more from them, then they learn from you

So far I only need help with the training program. They havn’t started training yet. Unless anyone has some suggestions or better ideas, their inseason training will look like this for a while.

warm ups : hypers, abbs, chins.

1. bench press
  2. bench assistance
  3. dead lift
  4. dead lift assistance