Special Forces Training

I plan on going into the military when I graduated, or should I say if I ever graduate. Just wondering if any former military men (especially SF) read this forum. If so, could you give some suggestions on what I should expect and some possible things I should concentrate on, training wise. The way things are going this semester I should have plenty of time to train next semester.

endurance (big time) and don’t worry about size because all you do in SF or in any grunt unit is hump (hike) and run. Keep on lifting but start running 5-8 miles 4-5 days a week. Get youself an A.L.I.C.E. pack with(civilians call it a ruck sack) at any surplas store, put about 65 lbs and build up to about 90, start “humpin” 8-20 miles when you can. Oh keep on eatin as well

mdog is right, endurance is #1, funtional strength is #2. head over to dragondoor and read some articles on combat conditioning.
also, if you plan on going sf mental toughness is the single most important attribute you can have. good luck in whatever you choose.

Again, as is usuall with this board, DITTO on what was said above. Years back I did PJ school and the key was mental. I recently did Colorado’s DOC SORT school (11 days of heavy physical/mental work on a average of 2 hours sleep/day) and again it is the mental that gets you through. Do a search on spec ops training. There is lots of stuff out there, some good, some bad. But endurance is the key. Lots of it. Till you cry lots of it. With the alice, load it up and learn to do 5-8 miles at a quick time/slow jog, push-ups with it, chins with it, what ever with it…best of luck and stay strong–

#1 Mental focus, #2 Mental focus, #3 Mental Focus

Good 4 U. All of the sugguestions so far are great. What is you timeline (how long before you graduate)? Are you entering as an officer (ROTC/OCS) or enlisting? How fit are you currently (two mile run, push-ups, sit-up and twelve mile road march)? Best of Luck.