T Nation

Soreness From Deads

I’ve been doing Deads now for about 3 months, and I’ve gone from 145 to doing 325 now (for triples) and notice that I have a bit of soreness in my lower back. Its not pain and doesn’t bother me much, but I was just wondering if I’m supposed to have this soreness?

To clarify, its not pain, but more of a soreness like I feel in my legs also after deads. Will this eventually go away as I strengthen my lower back, or am I doing something wrong here?

My words of wisdom to you:

As you progress, the pain and soreness will not diminish. You’ll simply be lifting heavier weights.

[quote]Mutu wrote:
I’ve been doing Deads now for about 3 months, and I’ve gone from 145 to doing 325 now (for triples) and notice that I have a bit of soreness in my lower back. Its not pain and doesn’t bother me much, but I was just wondering if I’m supposed to have this soreness?

To clarify, its not pain, but more of a soreness like I feel in my legs also after deads. Will this eventually go away as I strengthen my lower back, or am I doing something wrong here?

[/quote]

You’ve gone up in weight fast. There are a lot of ligaments and tendons that tie the spine to the pelvis. It is my opinion that muscles can sometimes strengthen faster than the connective tissue and this may cause injury. Just be careful with increases until you are sure your back can take it

[quote]Razorslim wrote:
You’ve gone up in weight fast. There are a lot of ligaments and tendons that tie the spine to the pelvis. It is my opinion that muscles can sometimes strengthen faster than the connective tissue and this may cause injury. Just be careful with increases until you are sure your back can take it[/quote]

I would add very fast. Your first time dead lifting? It’s hard for me to imagine such an increase without your technique taking a hit. Check that. Did you do any deloading in those 3 months? You should have.