Sore Knees During Step-Ups

long story short i started lifting in the middle of 2005 i bulked from 135 to 160 in about 8 months but got burnt out from lifting alone. i took about 7-8 months off and just started lifting again about four weeks ago.

ive started back up on the skinny bastard routine and have just changed exercises from barbell lunges to barbell step ups. while doing lunges i had small bits of pain in my knee just under my knee caps. since doing step ups (today 1st time) i could hardly lift my self up (no weight) with out exruciating (spl?) pain in the same place.

obviously it will benefit me to get wraps and probably take a supplement but are there any other suggestions any one would have…

• note its is both knees and i never have pain in my knees while squating.(280lbs-- im very happy with this PR considering i could barly squat 135lbs when i started w.s.s.b 4 weeeks ago)

Watch yourself in a mirror, your knees could be over-extending your toes (which in lunges and step ups they should never do). This could lead to some uncomfortability and possible tendonitis.

Step ups and lunges should have your weight on your heel and you lever yourself up with your glute mostly. If you are leaning forward and stabilizing with your glute, but raising youself with the quad, that’s a lot of tension on the knee. Don’t do that. It’s bad.

I get a similar pain doing step ups or step overs. turns out its arthritis…

In your case… might be too much weight, might be torn cartlige or arthritis or like the other guys say… bad form.

I follow the advice that a lot of posters here give… if it hurts then don’t do what ever causes pain. Get checked out medically to see if there is a problem…