T Nation

Sore All The Time

Hello all,

I have been training for 3 months now and it seems every time I workout I get sore 2 days later. I expected it in the first few weeks and the intensity of soreness has gone down by about half but it is still persistent. I walk to my gym, lift, walk on the treadmill for about 10 minutes, stretch, then walk home. Total time spent is usually 60-90 minutes 3 days a week.

Is there anything else I can do to prevent this muscle soreness from happening or reduce its intensity?

Other than adequate rest and proper diet, no. I've been lifting for years and still get delayed onset muscle soreness once in awhile. You could try Anaconda, they claim you can train more with it.

Theoretically DOMS can be prevented by just limiting the concentric and ismoetric contractions of an exercise, but this is not possible in all movements of course. In my experience though, just keep training through it. You will get stronger and more adapted to your program, it is normal.

Google search "DOMS" if you would like to learn more about what you are experiencing.

You mean limiting your ecentric cotractions?

Oops! I wrote that terribly I think, "limiting exercise TO the concentric..." is what I was trying to say. Thanks for catching that MotherofPearl.

drinking plenty of water, sleep enough, eat enough, massage targeted area...

that'll help reduce the soreness... ure gonna be sore either way tho... even if its a little

Eat more and lift more often. 3 days a week and your body isnt adapting to the stress.

I think I discovered my problem. I lift at a slow tempo with an especially slow eccentric phase. I am going to try speeding up the eccentric phase a little bit and see if that helps.

I still get incredibly sore in glute/low back tie-in area.

At the moment I'm basically working lower my back 4 days a week (ie every time I train) w deadlifts and GMS on one day, squats and cleans on another, and 2 days of heavy rowing.