Somewhat New to Lifting and in DIRE Need of Moral Support

I’m a 23-yr old grad student, and I’ve been in the training scene for about a year and a half now. It has been successful, and I’ve achieved results that I’m quite happy with in that time. Unfortunately, I’ve been becoming increasingly demoralized along the way. I have lifted at the campus rec cen for a year now and in that time I have

1. NEVER seen another lifter keeping a training log
  2. on less than a handful of occasions seen anyone executing a proper warm up (or ANY warm up for that matter)
  3. NEVER seen anyone in the gym with a stop watch
  4. NEVER seen anyone (besides myself) do a single-leg RDL

These are just a few examples…but you catch my drift. And I know not all of these are mandatory by any means…but you should be able to find SOMEBODY doing each or all of them! All these facts seem to eat at me more and more, especially since I’m progress-driven with my training (as all beginners should be.) I keep reading in T-Nation articles to surround yourself by like-minded trainees…i.e. if you wanna be x, y, and z train around people who are x, y, and z times 2.

No matter who I approach about being my training partner, they tell me my training is “too fancy” for them…because God forbid I do split squats or db snatches. Unfortunately, I am finding no inspiration where I’m lifting and I cannot afford to go elsewhere. IS ANYONE OUT THERE IN A SIMILAR PREDICAMENT WITH WORDS OF WISDOM OR SOUND ADVICE ON COPING?

It’s very sad, because I am nothing special. I’m not a college athlete. I just learned how to use a foam roller, learned a few mobility and activation drills, learned how to squat with a broom stick and picked up a good program from Nate Green. And bam…results. That just makes it all that much harder to watch everyone abusing their time in the gym around me.

Is this a phase that every new lifter goes through at some point? Can there be a light at the end of this tunnel?? Please help!!