Someone Please Help with My Deadlift Form

I’m relatively new to lifting. My form for the bench and squat are good, however my deadlift form sucks. Every time I lift, I only feel it in my lower back, no hamstrings, no glutes. I feel like I am only lifting with my back, and I know this isn’t good. Someone please help!!!

Looking to the side before every rep alone is jacking up your form. No way you are staying tight doing that. Fix that first. It should mean less time spent at the bottom of the rep.

1 Like

Breathing and bracing, learn it and do it 100% of the time. Video below.

Keep that bar as close to your shins as possible (start over midfoot from your perspective and pull straight back). It looks like you are swinging the bar out in front of you to avoid your knees. If you setup right you won’t hit your knees.

Drive through your heels, not the middle of your foot.

It looks like your doing two lifts. First with the legs and then with the lower back. Fire your glutes and focus on driving your hips forward in one smooth motion. If you do it right you will tag your nads with the bar.

2 Likes

Don’t just lazily walk up to the bar, bend over, and pick it up.

You need to PULL yourself into position. Get tight, squeeze your chest up with your lats. Point your nipples at the wall and keep your head neutral. SUCK in a big breath of air and basically transfer all that energy into your abs; keep them locked and loaded fully engaged. Keep the bar in contact with your shins the whole time. Imagine the bar is chained to the floor and it isnt going anywhere, but the ground directly beneath you can be pushed away. Initiate like you’re leg pressing the earth and when the bar slides up your legs and reaches your knees, SQUEEZE your booty cheeks hard and fire your dick into the bar like it’s prison and you aint ever making parole.

1 Like