T Nation

Somebody Help the Noob

Bf:approx 20%

Well,I just started hitting the gym about 3 weeks ago.Used to go to the gym in my apartment where there are no trainers.Lost about 11lbs(to get to 176) in about 2 weeks by restricting calories(cut out all my junk food) and doing a bit of cardio and working on different muscle groups each day.(Biceps+back,chest+triceps,legs+abs+shoulders)
Approx 15*3 of most exercises.

Now it's been a week since I've started going to this other gym with my friend where there are trainers who tell us what to do.Been doing more cardio than before,the trainer makes me do 15*2 of each and I'm not losing any weight AND I'm confused when I see people talking about eating more to grow whereas here I'm trying to eat less to cut the fat and get lean.I want to put on some muscle too,but I'm just worried eating more is just going to be counter-productive to my fat-loss goal.
Some help please?

I'm a noob too but let me tell you a few things.

1. If you lost 11 pounds in 2 weeks you are losing weight too fast. At that rate you will be losing muscle mass along with fat. Calculate your BMR(Basal Metabolic Rate) and your TDEE(Total Daily Energy Expenditure). These calculations can be found online easily by searching google.

2. When you know your TDEE, aim to eat about 10% less calories, no more.

3. Weigh your food portions on a kitchen scale and calculate the calories in everything you eat. If you try to guess you will be WAY off.