T Nation

Some Successes, Questions, & Data

Hey everybody, I've been a T-Nation reader, but Im pretty new to serious training. So some background first, in Feb 2007 I weighed 255lbs and due to some issues (a knee injury) I decided it was time to cut the crap and lose the weight. I had always been fat, so I figured Id drop something like 15lbs and call it a day.

Once the ball got rolling however and I knew I could keep it going, I did. By July 2007 I weighed 185lbs and been lifting constantly for a few months.

I started out cutting too many calories, which I think may have made me a little too carb/calorie-phobic. however, I talked to a friend of mine who was into bodybuilding who told me to eat every 3 hours (which at first I thought was crazy, lol) and that that should help and of course it did. About 2 months ago I started getting into a lot of the nutrition side of things here at T-Nation and have since been working on that.

But my problem(s) is: I have a lot of loose skin around my abdomen, my chest is still a bit flabby (kinda, its hard to explain). And I dont honestly know if my gains in the gym are good or if theyre just ok.

Now previously I would have just cut some calories and see the fat drop, but I dont know if I can. I get around 2400 calories a day (I say around because some days its more some days its less). I am carb cycling and I get plenty of protein (at least 1.5g/per lbs a day) also my healthy fat intake is good (plenty of olive oil, almonds, so on.

Im trying to plan 'cheat days' where I get above maintenance (today was one), but within the past 6-7 months Ive had maybe 6 cheat meals total.

So, the bulletpoints for those who dont want to read all that (cant blame you)---

Went from 255 (Feb 2007) to 185 (July 2007)
Lifting 5 days a week
Getting (at least trying to eat) 2,400 Calories a day
Been 'dieting' for 7 months straight, only just started to carb cycle, before that it was all low carb, even lower calories.