T Nation

Some Questions After 3 Years of Little Results

Ok, so I wouldn't exactly call myself a beginner, but I still look like one and I have a couple questions so I figured the beginner section is where this belongs.

I've been lifting weights for almost 3 years now and in that time I've seen little to no result. Now, for the first 2 years or so I didn't really understand much and I didn't exactly go looking for places like this. So I'd say for a year max I've been a little more than half aware of what needs to be done. I didn't really have a training program up until about 6 months ago when I started Nate Green's Build For Show program.

That being said, I still have some difficulty presented to myself. I'll say this up front and won't deny it: I suck at nutrition. I mean, I know what's good and what's not, but even when I eat only that I don't seem to lose fat or gain much muscle. I have disgusting love handles, fat on my ass, droopy pecs (they actually seem smaller to me lately), and a nasty looking abdominal region. I've pretty much looked this way since I grew a few inches and dropped most of my fat from being a smaller kid.

I don't know if my nutrition sucks because I'm still eating too much even when foods are good or if it's that I'm not eating frequently enough and drinking enough water, or whatever. All I know is that I'm sick of looking decent (although nothing impressive and still kinda small looking) with clothes on but a sight for sore eyes without.

I certainly don't stray from bad stuff though. I eat a lot of carbs (which is bad, I know. But when you work outside year round with only cold/uncooked food being your main option you kind of limit yourself on what you take for lunch after a while.) and don't keep track of calories.