T Nation

Some Help on the Squat

Since I'm a beginner, I do have a little question about squats. When I 'sit' back, should I go back in a way that I really feel my hamstrings getting a stretch? Should I feel some kind of tension? Currently, I am just sitting back, with no 'feeling' at all in my hams..

The day after, I am sore in my legs and glutes, so it isn't that I am not using them at all.
But since I don't know a experienced lifter, I just thought that I'd ask it here..

Because I have shown some video's on other Bodybuilding website, and they say I don't use hip drive. So my question, should I sit back in a way that I really feel my hamstrings getting a stretch? (So that they build up tension?)

I don’t ever feel my hamstrings stretching when I squat. If they are stretching, you aren’t bending your knees and therefore doing a good morning. You should feel tension in them, that’s about it. If you don’t “feel” it go deeper, add weight, something.

[quote]Avenge wrote:
Since I’m a beginner, I do have a little question about squats. When I ‘sit’ back, should I go back in a way that I really feel my hamstrings getting a stretch? Should I feel some kind of tension? Currently, I am just sitting back, with no ‘feeling’ at all in my hams…

The day after, I am sore in my legs and glutes, so it isn’t that I am not using them at all.
But since I don’t know a experienced lifter, I just thought that I’d ask it here…

Because I have shown some video’s on other Bodybuilding website, and they say I don’t use hip drive. So my question, should I sit back in a way that I really feel my hamstrings getting a stretch? (So that they build up tension?)[/quote]

In my opinion the first movement of a squat from standing is to drift your hips back BEFORE the knees bend or you flex your hips.