T Nation

Some Direction and/or Advice?

Hey everyone, my name’s John and I live in London, Ontario. I’ve been lifting weights for the past 10 years, but only the past year and a half have been for aesthetic purposes. I played varsity football in university as a DE/DT, and got up as high as 280 lbs (but wasn’t overly “round” b/c I’m 6’5"). I was much stronger back then, but I’ve currently been able to drop to 220 over the last year or so.

Currently, I’m almost done my 6th week of Thibaudeau’s “Destroying Fat” program, which I’m using along side the ideas in his “Refined Physique Transformation”. This is probably the leanest I’ve ever been (although I’m not sure of my bf %), although I’d like to get leaner. Clearly by the photos, putting on some quality mass is also a concern of mine.

My plan was to continue with what I’m doing for another couple months, and then begin a slow mass gain phase. I was looking for help in terms of what my weak points are, and whether or not I’m heading in the right direction. I feel I’m stuck in the middle: I’ve got too much body fat to be “lean”, yet I’m lacking muscle mass to be considered “big”. Any and all comments welcome. If you need any further info, please just ask! (I feel like this post is excessively long already!)…Thanks.

A few more pics…

one more…

I’m sure that you can find great sample diets on this site to adopt and use in order to put on quality weight. You look strong, but I see a lack of mass, really. Eat more quality foods and keep hitting the gym. What kind of diet plan are you following now?

Chest and upper back need work from what I can see. Leg shots? BF looks good, though.