Some Advice for Police Academy Training?

Just to give you some background
Iv been running 5/3/1 for about 6 months and I have lifted in the past as well

Current maxes(theoretical) are

Dead: 309
Bench: 384
Squat: 358
Overhead: 253

My lower body is far in a way weaker than my upper. My lifts read almost backwards it seems.

I currently weight 275 pounds at 5’7 about 30% bodyfat. I started in may at about 300 pounds I’m aware I am fat and its one of the things I am working on. My current mile time is about 12 mins which is super high.

I would like to go into the academy running a sub 30 minute 5k. The academy is slated to begin in March.

I probably don’t have a lot of time but getting as close as possible will be nice. I currently work a 9-5 job, I’m a good cook, have a decent sized budget for food and supplements and am not afraid of hard work.

My predicament is that I am getting paralyzed by analysis.

The academy is mainly calisthenics so I assume my training should begin to include those but I’m not sure which ones to do on which days.

Should I abandon 5/3/1 and focus exclusively on a full body calisthenic program for now, start a keto diet? So much crap on the internet. I’m ready to go hard as hell at something I just want to make sure its a good choice and get a little reassurance.

Generic questions I know, I apologize.

To summarize: I need to lose weight, improve overall GPP, and greatly increase my speed and capacity at running.

Please recommend an eating plan(including foods would be a bonus, perhaps an example meal)
And also a training adjustment that may better accommodate my current needs.

Thank you anyone who takes the time to answer.

@Frank_C

1 Like

I’ve been through two police academies and it sounds like yours will be similar. First (and before I forget), is there a PT test to get in or to graduate?