T Nation

Sol's Training Log - Getting back up!

So after having a pretty bad year of training, I'm re-focusing, not letting myself get down and finding my motivation again.

I competed in a meet in March, weighing 175lb with:
Squat - 200
Bench - 115
Deadlift - 240

Since then I've lost about 20 pounds, and am trying to get down another 10 or so. I'll put a link to a post I made with some before and afters at the bottom of this post.

Presently my training consists of 2 Max Effort days / week (Upper & Lower), and 2 Volume days (same). I'm trying to will myself into doing a little more light cardio (just walking), which shouldn't be hard since I work at a gym, but I've been too lazy. Time to get on it.

I've deadlifted with a sumo stance since I started lifting, but recently it's been really disappointing - as in I couldn't lift 215 a couple weeks ago. On a whim one day I tried conventional and got myself up to 225! My upper back rounded quite a bit, I think, so I got nervous and didn't go up anymore even though I felt like I could. So I'll be sticking with conventional for now, which I've never done more than a handful of times before! The other day I squatted 205 at a questionable depth, but I'll take it. My bench isn't doing too hot, I did 125lb x 2 a few months ago, and yesterday couldn't even get it for 1. But keeping at it!

Today's Training:

Volume Lower

1) Speed Squat: 8x2x105
2) Deadlift: 5x5x185
3a) Front Squat: 4x8x75lb
3b) KB Swing: 4x15x44lb
4a) High Bar Prowler Push: 250lb x 40ft x 2
4b) Farmer's Walk: 50lb x 80ft x 4

My success with the conventional deadlift and the new squat PR have me motivated and excited - trying to keep the momentum up! I'm always open to advice and criticism on programming.

Link to before & afters: modern-fitness.blogspot.com/2012/09/fat-loss-minus-cardio-month-6-far-from.html

IN!