T Nation

Solid Training Advice Please!

Hi all,

I have been working out for around 3 years now and although i had some really great progress to start with my growth has really come to a stop over the last 6 -8 months. In fact I think i’ve shrunk since my avi taken about 2-3 months ago.

I have been consistently training however it has come to my attention that others in my gym seem to be progressing much faster using slightly different training principles. I have always shot for strength orientated programs like 5x5, BGB, upper / lower splits, ect predominately in the 5-6 rep range with long rest intervals and low TUT. I’ve got strong from these programs for certain, my bench is up to 170kg X 3, Squats 180 X 6, 85kg Press X6, Deadlift 200kg. However I am really seeking to start improving my size and I would like some advice on how to go about this. I am as strong as some guys who hold at least 20kg more muscle than me at the gym, although its fun I am training for muscle size but was advised to shoot for strength at first.

I understand there are loads of articles on here but I’m looking for some solid advice from a member. I have been looking at programs such as HST, I quite like the high frequency low volume methodology.

Any advice on solid solid proven programs for natural bodybuilders would be really appreciated. I would also like some feedback regarding the TUT because I believe the significantly low TUT I have been training in has lead to greater strength gains and less size gains. It is also important to note I am currently at about 16-18% BF which I am currently in the process of cutting down before adding the mass again. I am just researching options for 8-10 weeks time at the moment, unless of course there would be benefit in me adopting this straight away.

I hope all this makes sense… Feel free to post questions if I have made some stupid mistakes or have missed any details!!!

I really appreciate all your support, time and help!!

ZzS