Software Developers on This Forum? Let's Chat

Do you have a bachelor’s, coding Bootcamp grad, or self taught? If so do you know anyone who is a developer and went to Bootcamp? How long did it take them to get a job after graduating from bootcamp?

So I want to begin attending a coding Bootcamp here in Houston called Digital Crafts starting April 15th it’s 16 weeks 9-4 monday-friday. I’ll be 26 and haven’t completed a bachelor’s(Associates in Business). I have 15 classes left for a BS in MIS but can’t afford to go full time classes as I need to work. However I dont mind to go full time in this Bootcamp for 4+ months cause I’m motivated enough to get a job within a couple months within graduating so I see it as worth it although it’ll be $13,500 I’m gonna have to do $250/month plan lol. IM PLANNING TO GET BACHELORS IN 1-2 YEARS WHILE WORKING, I WANT THE BOOTCAMP TO GET ME IN THE FIELD FIRST AS IM IMPATIENT RIGHT NOW FOR A JOB I ENJOY I HATE THESE POINTLESS NON-SKILLED Jobs I’ve been doing.

I tried the self taught route for a couple months by buying a couple udemy Courses on web development. Man it’s hard when one can’t ask an instructor in person lol like taking screenshots and messaging over the net is inconvenient.

Web development is boring as hell to me. What other position could someone work if they have knowledge of latest technologies/programming languages that software engineering /Tech/Development industry is doing

Absolutely do this. It’s a still growing field that’s pretty saturated with self taught people. Do NOT go to an expensive school to do so, if it can be avoided. The school you attended doesn’t matter in virtually all of the IT space, especially programmers.

With a bachelors you will have a job prior to getting the diploma if you’re trying more than 25%.

This is assuming you live in/near a metro area with business presence. Remote work is also available, but typically not for people with no experience.