T Nation

Softball

For those of you that play softball, i just wanted to let you know how the first game went. 2 for 3 with two homers and three rbis. I hit one about 385 with a single wall bat. It was one of the best balls ive ever hit. The bat was a 34,30 redline. Its pretty tight. just had to tell someone cause nobody is home right now. see yas

Damn man, you hit that ball a ton! Do you play fastpitch, orthdox, or slowpitch? Just wondering as I play fastpitch but hit very few dingers as I’m a line drive hitter.

I play slow pitch.

Goldberg,

Since you are a fellow lifter and softball player I have a question for you. I recently started playing slow pitch softball again (for the first time in probably 10 years) and have noticed that my legs get very sore for a couple of days after playing. Mainly my hamstrings and hip flexors, but also to a lesser degree my quads. I use a balanced lifting plan that incorporates squats, extensions, leg curls etc. and lift decent amounts of weight with good form.

I'm wondering, should I cut back on my leg work while I'm playing? The last time my leg day occurred immediately after a game day I was totally burned out. After only a few sets of squats and curls I could feel my hammies starting to seize up. I'm not a power hitter like you, I'm more of a line drive hitter with lots of base running speed. I alternate between playing catcher and outfield. Any advice? Thanks.

I too get sore from playing. Mainly when i get in a slump and cant hit the ball in the air. Then i have to run instead of trott (hehe). I put my workout days on nonsoftball days. But last season i worked out before the games. One game i did chest and back and three hours later i went 4 for 5 with 3 homeruns. I love softball but lifting still comes first.

Thanks Goldberg,