Soccer training for youths

My 6-year-old little guy is really into soccer. We signed him up in a club with an ex-pro coach and Friday night they concentrate on skill development, Saturday’s they play scrimmages (1 on 1, 2 on 2, 4 on 4, and 5 on 5). Like most North Americans, I know NOTHING about soccer. I hated watching it on T.V. and saw it in person when the World Cup was in Chicago (not by choice, I was a cop assigned to the German team). I got to say I love watching the little guy run around the indoor field and playing the scrimmages.

My question is how would you set up a long term training program for youths. I imagine at 6 Y.O. you would concentrate on skill development and agility with some body weight core training and may be an introduction to GPP? When should they start lifting, sprinting, etc.? Don’t get me wrong, I don’t want to start pushing him and I know at this point he should have fun, just curious.

Ian King has said many times that kids should just play. NO Nintendos, playstations, TVs. when i was young all i did was play all day. Im sure it had the biggest impact on my abilities.

Just let him PLAY the game. General activity is the best thing he can do. Encourage it, no matter the activity. Leave everything else until early high school or maybe jr high. Just think, he could be into Nintendo instead.

Soccer is mostly about technical skills and tactical understanding of the game. Physical conditioning (on youth level) is secondary and usually integrated in some drill/games with a ball (like the infamous 3 on 1).
That does not mean that the physically stronger kid won’t have an advantage at the same level of skill, but then physical advantage at young age often causes neglection of further development of skills, and in the long run (i.e. when the others catch up) they will have to pay for that.