T Nation

Socal PLing Comps For Newbie?

Hey there. I’m new to lifting and only have a 900lb total (at 185 or so lbs) and 25 years of age, but I wouldn’t mind competing in some local competitions before I’m ready strength wise to do okay. I figure it could give me some experience/knowledge I won’t get from merely training in the gym. I realize I’ll probably get last place, but my ego isn’t so big that’s much of a deal.

But I’m very ignorant about powerlifting federations and how to find competitions. Does one need to be a member of a powerlifting federation to enter any competitions? Or is there local competitions around that aren’t run by larger federations? I obviously don’t want to travel beyond driving distance for a competition, so if I have to join a fed to enter anything, I guess I want to know who has a large presence in southern california, so I’d have a lot of options.

Also, I don’t train with any lifting gear (no knee wraps, straps, lifting suits/shirts, etc). Once in a blue moon, I’ll put a belt on if I’m unsure of a given weight, but I generally dont’ bother. Not that I would wear much lifting gear at my strength level since it would be kinda silly. But i guess I’d prefer something where that is limited, so I would be at less of a disadvantage.

Also, something with a novice division would be great because I definitely am that!

Any help would be greatly appreciated as I’m quite confused right now.

www.powerliftingwatch.com

There you go all the feds can search by state etyc just GO. Yes you’ll likely have to join but its all good and you can lift raw in any comp even against those in gear.

Get in there do the damn thing and ppl will fopr sure help you out and youll get the experience.

Phill

Go to www.powerliftingca.com. USPF California. There are plenty of local meets. I went to the one in Venice in September and it was OK, good enough for a newbie.