T Nation

Snatches vs Cleans

I’m new to serious weight training personally and I also work with college basketball players. I am curious about the different benefits from snatches and cleans. Does one build muscle and explosiveness better than the other?
Also, does one gain additional benefits by doing full snatches and cleans as opposed to power snatches and cleans?
Finally, what does one lose out on by doing them from a hang position instead of the floor?
This is a lot I know but I’ve been unable to find good answers to these questions.
I also attached a video of me doing each lift…form tips would be great.

If you’re thinking about building muscle I think there are better options out there than the o-lifts. The brief time under tension and lack of an eccentric makes them inefficient muscle builders for most people. I think CT has been incorporating some derivatives of the olympic lifts (snatch pulls or something, if I’m not mistaken) into some of the bodybuilding work he’s talking about in the livespills, but I don’t know much about what he’s doing there so I can’t comment.

As for building explosiveness, I don’t think you could necessarily say one is “better” than the other. I can’t remember which lift produces the higher power output (I want to say the clean but I can’t back that up), but ideally I would think you would do both. They’re far enough apart on the speed-strength continuum (with max deadlifts on one end and BW jumps on the other) that they do provide two different training stimuli, while the importance of one over the other would be determined by the sport/goals (ie a bobsledder might use more cleans than snatches, a volleyball player the opposite). If you had to pick one for basketball players I would probably go with the snatch, as I don’t think they would need the extra strength stimulus from the clean (providing they’re not abysmally weak at the snatch).