Snatch Critique

I have been working on the Olympic lifts on my own for a few months now (no access to a club or coach) Recently I read that I should try lowering my hips on the 1st pull, because I have long legs. The video is my first attempt at this. I have to say that the lift did feel a lot smoother than usual, although it was only 80% of my 1RM.

Also I read that if using the low hip position, that when working on strength one should focus more on the legs than the back. I do three workouts per week and do back squats 2x per week and fronts squats 1x per week, as well as good mornings and RDL’s. Is that enough? Currently my C&J pr is 70% of my back squat 1RM and my snatch is only 50% of my squat 1rm. It seems I have to work on technique…no? Thanks for any help

I think that that amount of leg work should definitely be enough, and I would train oly lifts as oly lifts trying to PR in those, and not worry about the % of your 1RM; because, as you do your other stuff as long as you get stronger there, there is potential to get stronger in the oly lifts.

You are lifting your hips up too fast. Your back angle should be consistent until you get to the top of your knees into the second pull. Remember to drive your heels through the floor to China. It will help to lift up your toes to get that weight on the heels.

Also, don’t worry about percentages at first. Focus on a weight where it is challenging but you can do it properly to ingrain proper bar path.

[quote]rssj435 wrote:
You are lifting your hips up too fast. Your back angle should be consistent until you get to the top of your knees into the second pull. Remember to drive your heels through the floor to China. It will help to lift up your toes to get that weight on the heels.

Also, don’t worry about percentages at first. Focus on a weight where it is challenging but you can do it properly to ingrain proper bar path.[/quote]

Firt part is correct.