Smith Machine vs.Free Weights for Bench

Hello all

Great to see such a good community here, thought it was about time to stop lurking and sign up!

Its 2 weeks since I started training and I am glad to say that I am piling the muscle on and getting some real gains which is really great. My focus has been on the compound lifts such as squatting, deadlifts, shoulder presses, dips and chins and of course bench presses.

I am usually using the smith machine for bench press as I don’t always have a spotter. Training late at night, the gym is usually empty. The smith machine gives me confidence to pile the poundage on.

However, and here is the question, tonight the smith machine was being used so I decided to do my bench on the loose weights – but using a lighter weight than normal I was swaying all over the place and really struggling.

There are 2 explanations I can think of which I’m sure u guys are a lot more knowledgeable and can either refute or confirm them! Either:

1. Smith machine has been giving me too much support and I don’t have the balance to press the same weight on the free weights, (or has been compensating for poor technique) or

2. Smith machien is usually on a slight incline, therefore I’m lacking the strenght in a certain part of my chest to bench press on the flat bench - i.e. these muscles havent developed?

Ideally I’d use the smith machine however if it means im building fake strenght then of course I’ll let my ego take a hit and revert back to lighter weights on the free weights if that’s what’s needed!

Any thoughts?

Well congratulations on your new lifestyle and welcome to T-Nation!

I (and many others) will suggest that you ditch the Smith Machine and practice your form with free weights.

Using free weights allows you to work all the stabilizer muscles that are needed to balance the load. This explains the reason why you wobbled underneath the bar on the bench press.