Smelling Salts/ Ammonia

I am creating this topic in the powerlifting section of the forum since you see powerlifters using these all the time.

I have no experience with smelling salts and stuff like that but I am curious and have some questions:

1. When to use it? Only at a competing/ maximum effort attempt? Frequently when you need help to get fired up in training?
  2. How do I use it as a beginner? I mean are there any tips beside “take a sniff and see for yourself”?
  3. Health concerns/ side effects. Is there something known on this or has somebody had bad experiences?
  4. What should I look for if I want to get some?
  5. What are your thoughts about them in general?

As always thanks in advance.

I don’t use it often and only really bench anymore. Its usually once a month or two if I know I can hit a number but cant get in the zone for it.
You said How do you use it as a beginner, beginner lifter or first time trying it? To use it just give it a smell once or twice when you first get it to see how it is. Then use it for your lift if you need it but don’t use it often your body gets used to it. Thats why you ll see like eric lilliebridge shoves his nose in a bottle of nose tork.
That said if your a beginner lifter I wouldnt use it till your at least strong enough to squat 440+, bench 315+, and pull 525+ cause you really shouldn’t need any hype to lift those numbers depending on size

I bought some just to try, I’d stay away from using them all the time, but great for 1 rep max attempts and competition.

Keep them a little ways away from your nose is my advise lol. I put the cap up touching my nose the first time and oh man are they strong lol.

1: I only use ammonia when I’m going for a max, and I only go for a max in a contest. I don’t ever psyche myself up in training, as I find trianing in that state is too taxing on my recovery.