T Nation

Small Already, But High BF Problem

hey all. My cousin (no really…) is small in size about 167 5’7 and 24 % BF. If he cut to 12% he’ll only weigh like 150 lbs or likely less !!! So in a case like this is it OK to start to bulk earlier ? Bulking with a hight fat % is bad, but who wants to be a skinny 150 or less before staring to gain. Maybe bulking firt to add 15 lbs of muscle would be better, even if it adds 8 of fat at the same time… I didn’t have an answer for him, do you ? Thanks.

I’d lose the weight first. Why get fatter to gain a couple pounds of muscle and then lose a lot of it to diet down? Besides, he’d have a better self image when he’s lean and can actually see the results. Just my thoughts…

150 lbs at 5’7 isn’t a terrible weight. Not great, but not terrible either.

If your cousin is an absolute noob he might be able to lose fat and gain muscle at the same time for a while.

Transition to a good T-Dawg diet along with a serious program involving compound lifts and stand back!

Just make sure your cousin learns to use good form…

the self image point is a very good one.
Along with the gain posibilities while cutting because he hasn’t worked out in a long time, so it will be like a noob. Maybe even better for him if musscle memory plays any part.

I think we all over complicate things regarding beginners. Should I cut?? Should I bulk??

As Vroom said, get the diet in order and lift some weights using a balanced program.

With the right foodchoises and working out he will lose weight.

Later on he can chose if he want to cut or bulk depending on the results he got starting up again…

I agree with Vroom. On a side note regarding diet choice: “Don’t Diet” is basically Massive Eating with less calories, right? Maybe it would make a good choice for the guy. He’ll want to transition to Massive Eating after the inital transformation anyway.

I know my exemple is not universal but, let me share my story.