Slumped and Frustrated

I’ve been lifting on and off for 8 years now. In that time I have not seen the type of improvement I’d hoped to see. I am sure this type of thing has been posted a million times over. But I’m not here to whine, just looking for new ideas.

I have done strong lifts 5x5, Crossfit, calisthenics, trx, and kettlebell training over the past 8 years. I have tried eating over 3000 calories a day for months at a time.

I recently had to have parathyroid surgery on my neck, and am recovering from a lower leg injury that has had me on crutches for 2 weeks. So right now I’m honestly at my lowest point.

The reason I am creating this post is to try to get ideas on what direction to go with my training. My goal is to gain weight and muscle mass. I know I need to eat as much as possible, but the training that I have been trying hasn’t given me the results I’m looking for.

I don’t know anyone else that has as hard of a time gaining weight as me. I’ve had friends that do the exact same workouts I do get big , while I’m stuck at the same weight and strength.

I’m throwing myself at the mercy of the internet here. What can I do to gain size and strength? I currently weigh 150 lbs (my heaviest). I am 31 years old. My height is 5’10". Body fat percentage is very low. Thank you to anyone who takes the time to read this and reply. I’m desperate.

With all of the training you’ve mentioned, nothing looks like anything anyone else has ever done to try to get bigger. Have you considered using a lifting plan where the goal is to gain hypertrophy?

3 Likes