T Nation

Slow 'n' Steady - Mpenix Training Log

My name is Mark Penix(yes you read that last name right)… and I’ve been around T-Nation for not too long as a member, but I’ve been reading for about 6-7 months now trying to muster up the courage to defeat my worst enemy (fat, laziness, and addictions to mt. dew and cigarettes).

I’m not new to training, I played soccer for the better part of 13 years, did track in high school for 3 years, joined the Air Force the day after I graduated high school (May 18th, 2000)… and now I’m a civilian working for a fortune 500 company. I’m a system administrator (lazy desk job) and have noticed my former abs disappear before my very eyes over the past 4-5 years.

Stats at time of pictures (4 weeks ago).
Height: 71 inches
Weight: 171 lbs
Body fat: 17% (guesstimate)

Goals:
To reach 180-190 pounds by December 20th (27th birthday) of this year while losing some bodyfat (hopefully get near 9-10% mark or better).

I started to keep a training log to track my progress in weight progression. I also took measurements at the time of the photos that I’ll get up very soon.

Resting front (4 weeks ago - circa May 5-10th 2008)

Resting side (4 weeks ago - circa May 5-10th 2008)

Flex Back (sort of) - (4 weeks ago - circa May 5-10th 2008)

Front Flex (4 weeks ago - circa May 5-10th 2008) forgot to do a chest / arm flex shot… oh well.

Closer Front shot (4 weeks ago - circa May 5-10th 2008)

You can see my training wheels?

Moving last post from profile to here…

June 5th:
As per my post on the 23rd of last month I’ve been doing that exact workout… sans the bike on most days due to inclimate weather as well as the chinups (no bar (yet)).

May 23rd - Workout
May 25th - Workout
May 27th - no workout (sore).
May 29th - Workout
May 31st - (no workout) big party (gotta live).
June 2nd - Workout
June 4th - Workout