Sleep or Eat

Hey everyone,
I have been following this site for about two months now and have gotten a lot of valuble information. I am a college student home for the summer and having finished up working, I have the luxury of sleeping in as late as I want. My question is this: am I better off sleeping for 10 or 11 hours or should I shoot for around eight hours and then start getting those calories rolling in? I have gained a solid 13 pounds already this summer (up from 165) at 6" but would like to add as much mass as possible before heading back to school.

Thanks!

For me, 8 hours is plenty.

Spend it working out. Then the eating will make sense…

First, I caution you about oversleeping. Once you get used to it, you want that much sleep. When you go back to school and can only afford 6-8 hours a night, you’ll be hurting for a while. In my opinion, it is best not to sleep in every day, maybe twice a week at best.

I speak from self experience, during a period of unemployment, I had nothing much else to do but sleep. It becomes habit, and soon, sleep is all I wanted to do. Just as training and living a healthy lifestyle builds positve momentum, laziness builds negative momentum and it slowed me down in other aspects in my life.

But enough of my soapbox, you asked about feeding. If you are going to spend long periods in slumber, take a slow digesting protein drink (@30 grams casein) before you go to bed, and if you can, wake up in the middle of the night and drink another. Also, eat upon rising. This should keep the nutrients in steady supply.

You’re young. Sleep in while you can because once the reality of real life comes on, there will be no more sleeping in. But 8 hours is usually enough. Just eat big and lift heavy when you’re awake.

If following an intense training program, then 10 hours of sleep each night is ideal for recovery. CW recently mentioned this in one of his responses to a question about recovery methods.