Sled Pushes / Pulls

Anyone here push and pull sleds as part of their training ? I’m new to it and just wondering how you guys put it into your own workout, how you progress ( length pushed and pulled or weight used ), rest between sessions, etc.

I just started about four workouts ago . Starting easy by pushing about 30 yards then pulling back the same distance repeated twice as a warm up for my regular workout. I’m guessing the length ; turning out to about 32 steps forward and about 40 backward. Today I also added that at the end of a leg workout. I’m using a Rogue sled that the specs say weighs 105 empty.

Anyone experienced with them have any advice of what to do and to avoid ?

Sled work is a pretty regular part of my training. It gets phased in and out. I use an Elitefts Prowler specifically, so I can push and drag it.

What are you wanting to accomplish with the sled? That’s going to determine how it gets used.

I incorporate it in a not too structured manner, depends on how much suck factor I’m wanting to face, or as mentioned above, what exactly I’m wanting out of it. I primarily use it as a conditioning tool, so tend to move quick over 40 metres and keep rests short. If I’m slow, it’s time to call it.

I wouldn’t hesitate to load it heavy and take a shorter and slower “strength based” approach with it.

EDIT: I’ve not got lots of experience with it, I’m figuring it out as I go along, but it’s just a prowler, load it up and go, I can’t go too far wrong!