T Nation

Slacking Off Responsibility?

I’m a 20 year old sophomore in college. I’m the type of person that has always just naturally assumed leadership positions. Over the past year alone I was in student government, on various committees around the university, vice president of my fraternity, etc. However, one by one, I seem to be shirking these all off. First it was because of scheduling conflicts, next not agreeing with administration, then not being interested in running for re-election, etc. I even dumped my girlfriend about a month ago. For the first time in years, I have almost no responsibility to anyone but myself, and I’m probably happier now than I’ve ever been. Does this just have to do with my age, or could this be a habit that I’m forming that might follow me as I get older? Just looking for some input.

You remind me of me. I was a leader and all that other shit. Then, one day, I asked myself what the fuck I was doing. I knew I was miserable. I made a resolution to figure some shit out and, to do that, I had to concentrate on me instead of babysitting and conforming to the ignorant masses. I said fuck you to the disposable people in my life. I didn’t bother wasting an expletive on the ones I really loathed. I don’t want any more drama. Or rules. If that means not being responsible, whatever. I’ll take my sanity.

I think it is pretty common among the students I work with. I know that I did the same thing when I was in school. If you’re one of those top leaders, you come in with all this excitement and desire to be in everything. Then eventually you start realizing that it doesn’t serve you all that much good anymore and you lose interest.