T Nation

Skinny Guy's Dilemma

What path would you guys recommend for a guy who is currently 160lbs at 16% bodyfat, trying to get to 175 lbs at 7-8% body fat? I realize this will probably take a year or more but I am willing do whatever it takes to get there.

Would it be quicker to bulk now and stop worrying about my excess fat, or take off the excess fat now and start from around 150lbs and 10% bodyfat? I currently lift as hard as possible, focusing on the “money” exercises.

I think I might be spinning my wheels though because I am running on the treadmill for about 30 minutes after arm days 2-3 times per week. Assuming you cannot effectively gain muscle while losing fat, would I be smarter to bulk and worry about the cutting later or cut now and start with less fat?

I have a small frame and am 5’9. 25 year old male. I have been lifting steadily but not at an all out effort for about 2 years. I used to be skinny as hell. When I graduated college a couple of years ago I was 135 an 10% bodyfat. I have been able to gain about 30lbs but have added fat in the midsection so my abs disappeared. I want a transformation that I can be proud of and one that other people can tell I’m not a skinny bitch anymore.

Help a skinny guy out! Thanks a lot guys.

Thank You.

http://www.T-Nation.com/free_online_forum/blog_sports_training_performance_bodybuilding_alpha?pageNo=1&s=forumsNavTop

If all you’ve been doing is treadmill and “arm day” you can consider yourself a beginner and will likely be able to lose BF and make some lean muscle gains simultaneously. You accomplish this mainly by focusing on big, compound, multi-joint lifts; sticking with High Intensity Interval Training for your cardio and getting your diet in order. The heavy, compound work will serve to increase your hormonal levels, the HIIT will increase your metabolism and the diet is… well, a no-brainer.