T Nation

Skinny Fat Training

Hi fellow T-Nationers,

I am a long time reader but first time poster, in need of some serious advice. I have the unfortunate body composition - skinny-fat, at 5ft 8 and 150lbs. I am really in need of some advice from people with experience and knowledge because at the moment I have no direction in my training and was even considering trying a low carb diet to lose fat, before reading the skinny fat manifesto.

My body naturally stores fat around the chest and abs yet I dont seem to build much muscle either which leaves me confused about how I should be training or eating.

I'm not a total novice but nor am I strong - I can Deadlift 300lbs, Squat 185lbs and Bench Press 150lbs. Any help would be greatly appreciated because I feel like I am running in two directions at the same time and getting nowhere.

Current Workout (Started last week)

Monday - Squat 6x3, Clean and Press 3x5, Weighted Pull Ups 3x5-8, Close Grip Push Ups 3x10-15, Thai Ab Workout
Wednesday - Bench Press 4x3-5, Clean Pulls 3x5, Power Snatch 3x5,
Friday - Front Squat 6x3, Clean and Press 3x5, Weighted Chin Ups 3x5-8, Dips 3x8-15, Thai Ab Workout

My proposed diet was to not worry too much about what to eat through the day but to only eat vegetables as my carb with dinner.

As I mentioned any advice would be greatly appreciated, I have no direction at the moment and the wealth of conflicting opinions from unqualified people on the internet is confusing me.

What exactly are you asking for? You said you need advice but you never mentioned what you needed advice for.

Here's a very basic rundown: Eat a lot, lift heavy ass weights, and be patient.