Skinny Fat, Looking for Advice

Good day everyone! I am new to this website. I’m 17 and I’m starting my muscle/bodybuilding journey

I currently am 5’9 and weigh 170lbs. I started lifting hard at the end of June around 160lbs. I have some motor coordination issues and started off incredibly weak ( benching the bar, deadlifting 25lb plates… you get the idea )

Well my strength has progressed although it’s still not great. These are my current 5x5’s
Squat: June- 85lbs
August- 185lbs

Bench: June-85lbs
August- 140lbs

Deadlift: June-135lbs
August- 185lbs

So you can see my strength has progressed, with the biggest improvements being seen on my squat. I am still much weaker than I want to be though.

I have a problem. I overbulked for a while and knew nothing about nutrition and am now sitting at an uncomfortable 22% bodyfat. I am basically skinny fat. I tried lean bulking too but I got nowhere. So I’ve been cleared by a professional to go on a small cut if I’d like to. Considering I am a frustratingly fat 22%, I want to cut down to more like 12%, since I am a beginner is it reasonable for me to continue to increase my lifts during this cut? Is it even worth cutting now? I don’t feel confident with the amount of bodyfat I have. These are my pictures.

f253252ccedb4df98a9154f398d43b46-610xh

Am I going to look skinny if I cut or will I have some decent definition? I lifted incorrectly for over a year before hand and now my back is lagging severely. I’m currently doing the ICF 5x5 novice program. I notice decent progression on my main lifts except my barbell row which is struggling severely and I can’t seem to fix it. During my bulk I just got fatter without adding any muscle size and I’m really frustrated with it, and I want to eliminate my extra bodyfat. Would doing a small cut work for me?