T Nation

Skinny Fat Guy Takes the Plunge

Seeing other beginners step up has inspired me to do the same. I graduated college (I’m 22, 5’8" and 180 lbs) recently and instead of using the facilities I had during those four years, I sat on my fat ass and played video games and beer pong (in that order). But no longer; I am tired of being weak. I don’t care about a six pack. Anatomy taught me there’s one there already; it’s just some fat loss away, which is not my main priority. I just want to get strong. And that involves some active measures on my part:

I ordered Starting Strength a while back and it arrived yesterday (guess what I’ve been reading lately). A simple and fundamental program is exactly the base I need. I’m going to start light, so I make sure I get the technique down, but I’ll probably be passing my PRs (I haven’t lifted weights since 9th grade PE, so that shouldn’t be difficult) quickly.

I have a George Foreman grill and bought a crock pot. I’ll be using these two devices to fix the majority of my meals that don’t involve scrambled eggs (and some that do). The hardest thing for me will be eating small meals throughout the day at proper intervals, but if any of you have tips on doing so or make it easier, let me know.

I’m giving up my alcohol binges, also known as a night out on the town; it’s been hard getting out of the habit of partying Friday nights, waking up Saturday morning, drinking at the tailgate, going to the game, taking a nap, and then drinking some more, but after college, that becomes classified as alcoholism, so I’ve cut that out. The only things I’ve been drinking lately have been water, green tea, and milk (in decreasing order of consumption).

I’ve been trying to find a decent gym in my area. It’s difficult, but I guess with 3 major universities in the area, most people just go to their school gyms. Thankfully, I’m right in the middle so it takes forever to get to any of them /sarcasm.