Skin Problems

I’ve been lifting for 3 1/2 years and one thing I’ve had since I started lifting seriously is really bad skin, especially on my face. It comes out all in a rash like lots of little pimples across my cheeks and forehead. It seems to get worse when I’m training hard but then when I have a break or go on vacation, it clears up. It also seems to sometimes co-incide with a stressful period in my job or family life too.

I’m pretty good and showering, cleansing and also moisturising which does seem to help and certainly soothes the redness.

About a year ago I took a Bulbine supplement and my skin cleared up during that period but now I’m back to normal. I’m getting pretty sick of people saying ‘dude, what’s up with your face?’

Any ideas or similar experiences?

Isotretionin (marketed as accutane in most countries) does help with acne, but has some serious side-effects

showering/washing the face too often (more than 1-2 per day, especially with soap or any soap-like detergent) is actually bad, since you are destroying the natural balanced microbial flora of your skin every time

only use products like moisturizer with a natual pH (around 5)

try getting a medical skin cleansing product, anything with benzoyl peroxide or salycylic acid helps

Thanks for the advice. I have been meaning to see my doctor about it for ages so I should probably just do that. I had a bit of acne when I was a teen so this is obviously something I am prone to.

[quote]TheNWhiter wrote:
I’ve been lifting for 3 1/2 years and one thing I’ve had since I started lifting seriously is really bad skin, especially on my face. It comes out all in a rash like lots of little pimples across my cheeks and forehead. It seems to get worse when I’m training hard but then when I have a break or go on vacation, it clears up. It also seems to sometimes co-incide with a stressful period in my job or family life too.