T Nation

Skateboarding for Conditioning

I have been running 5/3/1 for the last 2 years have the book and would like opinions on skateboarding as conditioning tool. i have been skating for a long time, but cut it out to just focus on lifting and gaining weight I'm up to 230 from 180 not all of it is muscle and would like to slowly add in skating to take off some of this fat I havent been measured, but I would say I'm around 18% body fat. I currently lift 3 days a week somtimes 4.

If you skateboard up hill, I can see it.

Or put an elephant on your skateboard and and pull it up hill.

Yeah, that would work.

On a serious note, have fun with the skateboard, run up hill for conditioning.

But thats just me.

good call can't really do anthing right now due to foot injure just making plans for when I'm up and running.

I used to skate for cardio all the time in the summer and would work up a really good sweat aha wouldn't stick to one spot tho. Mainly cruised around. Gonna get a longboard for next summer.

Water running for now?

yeah pretty much just upperbody lifts still working on the details,as I can't walk or stand for 10 minutes at a time.

it sucks for cardio or conditioning. if you sweat on a skate-board you should probably try running at speed, running with a weight vest. Even walking with weight would be better. Biking, Skipping rope. It's a waste of time to be using a skate-board for "conditioning" unless you want to be some kind of skate-boarding professional. Even then you'd be better off building up your neck/back musculature for the inevitable brutal accidents.

Well its obviously not gonna be as good running. And I wouldn't substitute it for regular cardio, but maybe for a little extra? Theres nothing wrong with fun excercise once in a while lol

It cant hurt, but you'd well to add some sprints, weighted walks, etc.