T Nation

Singles for Muscle?

Could single build muscle?Some coach love it while other hate it.Most of the strengh athlete work on single and build huge body.On the other hand no bodybuilder use single to build their body.What is your opinion. have you ever tried single?

If you double your strength and eat enough food, you will have grown ALOT! No matter if it was by singles or 3x8

OP–how many total reps would you consider doing for a single rep set training session?

i did a bastardized singles club type program for 3 weeks doing 10-15 singles each training session for chins and now i have stretchmarks on my lats, i went from 250 at the beginning to about 245. so try it and see if it works for you.

Last time I checked, Waterbury has a hell of an article on singles training…now, for my own opinion, it’s nice for a week or two, but it’s more to prime the muscles than to actually get big out of it.

I did a lot of singles and doubles when I started training. I got stretch marks and obviously increased strength, but very little in the way of appreciable muscle growth. It may just be a personalized thing, but for me, I had to up the reps a bit to get enough overall stimulation.

S

A couple of Chad Waterbury’s programs and EDT for maximal strength include lots of singles with short rest intervals. There’s also the 100 singles workout that Dan John mentioned in his “Blood on the barbell” article.

I’ve been doing deadlifts as singles for the past month. It is a nice change, and makes it a lot easier to keep the form good.

Singles could work especially if you are keeping total reps high. However I’ve had more success using Waterbury’s 10x3. That still keeps the load very heavy but is safer than going for 100%1rm or close to it every time and allows for more total work in less time. But almost every training method can work for a short period of time especially if your body has never experienced it before.