Singles Are Bad?

Is it better to use 3-5rep max’s then using 3-4 singles at 90% or above for strength increases…I’ve heard a lot of things how the singles won’t help that much, but doing the 3-5 rep max’s will aid better in strength…

is the singles method better for advanced lifters…and if you only have less than a year of training is it better to be doing 3-5RM’s?
Whatcha think?
Thanks.

No one should be only using 1 rep maxes, and no one should exclude 1 rep maxes, unless you’re a total beginner learning the form for a lift.

I did a bout of CW’s Singles Club program about a year ago during a dieting phase to maintain my maximal strength, and I was actually able to increase it a little during that period, despite losing a little over 8 pounds in 6 weeks.

Having said that, I’m using a conjugated template now with 3 rep maxes for max effort work, testing my 1 RM every 4 weeks in the bench and deadlift, and my numbers have been going up steadily.

Not really a fair comparison, but I prefer 3 RM for strength gains. I find I get better at handling heavier weights if I do a few reps with them. Hope that helps!

[quote]cap’nsalty wrote:
…no one should exclude 1 rep maxes, unless you’re a total beginner learning the form for a lift.[/quote]

Even someone training for marathons?

[quote]SWR-1222D wrote:
Even someone training for marathons?[/quote]

What is it the kids call it these days? Pwnd?

He’s right - many to most people have absolutely no reason to use 1RMs in their training.

Training with singles from time to time, however, is a different story.

-Dan

Heavy singles form the backbone of my benching routine–heavy singles for ME once a week, lower weight higher reps for RM once a week. I have had good results from this approach, and the gains would have been even better if I didn’t occasionally run into time periods during the year when I don’t have access or time to lift for a couple weeks at a time.