T Nation

Simplify Lifting Drastically

Hey CT.

So, I’ve been trying to simplify my lifting drastically the last few months while trying to gain strength primarily in the front squat and the Oly lifts. What I’ve been doing for the last several months looks like this:

Day 1: mobility/foam rolling followed by some sort of jumping movement for 3-5 sets of 3-5 reps, based on how I feel that day. Usually alternates between broad jumps, box jumps, depth jumps or jumping snatches and/or cleans as shown in your neural charge videos.

Then I perform cleans/jerks off the floor, building up to a heavy single. I try not to miss any lifts here although I usually try to still hit my max potential for that day. I drop down by 10% and perform 3 sets of 1 the first week, 4 sets of 1 the 2nd week and then at least 5 sets of 1 the 3rd week. The fourth week I do the same but I just perform a heavy single and call it a day on that exercise. I then move on to front squats and ramp up to a true 1RM for that day, followed by the same pattern of heavy singles at 90% as with cleans.

Day 2: Same rep/set/loading scheme as Day 1 except that I perform power cleans/jerks from a hang or off blocks. I still work up to a true 1RM for front squats, drop down to 90% etc, etc.

Day 3: Rest

Day 4: Same concept as Day 1, except that I perform power snatches off the floor followed by deadlifts in place of front squats. Every other week I pull around 80-90% for speed instead of working up to a true 1RM for deadlifts.

Day 5: Same as Day 4 but I perform power snatches from a hang and perform front squats instead of deadlifts. I build up to a true 1RM on front squats just like on Days 1 and 2.

Day 6: rest