T Nation

Simple Workout to Prevent Illness Fatigue

Hello! New to training again! Trained a lot aged 18-22. Now nearly 40 and starting again. Problem is I keep getting ill and I have limited time to train. I’m a primary school teacher 3 days per week (so exposed to lots of bugs) and self employed outdoor instructor 1-2 days. Every time I try to get into a routine I get ill.

Except with hard Abs routines as I’ve been doing it for years (helps dodgy lower back). My issue is making progression, 4 - 5 times this year progression has been halted due to being ill. I’ve trained through it many times and the illness just doesn’t go and can last weeks!

So my question is: would a workout using just bench press and single arm row work? Those two exercises are the ones I like and respond well to. I would aim for low reps 4 sets of 5 for each. i hope it would not fatigue me as much and leave me susceptible. Also with any breaks the gains would hold on a bit longer with the strength work. I’ve never tried them just on their own though and worry my shoulders would lack development. My goals are strength with a bit of size! I also do running and will keep with the abs work.

Obviously never had this issue when I was younger and had really good results back then. Age is obviously a bit of an issue, but I know plenty of people who train and are older than me.

Thanks in advance and Merry Christmas!!

Obviously I don’t know everything going on here, but it sounds like recurring illness is your issue.

Do you have a weakened immune system, bad diet, insomnia, or some health issue going on that causes this?

Merry Christmas to you as well!