T Nation

Simple Meal Plans

ok, so I just got back from Europe and really need to buckle down and get serious. Before my trip I was sitting around 195-200. Now my worst fears have come true and after my trip Im now down to about 180. Now I really find its hard to ensure my cals/protein/fat/carb ratio unless I eat the same thing day after day.

I have never done this before but I going to try just to try and keep things as simple and easy as possible and to ensure proper nutrition. I also want to spend very little time cooking and plan on cooking maybe 2x/week and then storing. I know that lots of people here eat like this so any tips are appreciated.

For staples I was thinking-
meats-chicken breasts, steaks, turkey, eggs, tuna

carbs-brown rice, sweet potatoes, whole grain bread, oatmeal
/skim
fats-various nuts, omega 3s, whole/skim milk

I would also have various vegetables with every meal-broccoli,cucumber,peppers ect..

Now the question is can I make a complete diet using a very limited number of foods such as the ones I listed? Mentally I know I can do it mainly because I not really a big "food" person and I find it very easy to stay away from sweets ect. as long as I keep myself full.

Setting up meals-this is just an idea- all help is very appreciated

meal 1- 2 pieces of toast or large serving oatmeal
4 eggs
glass milk

meal 2- chicken breast
serving rice
vegetables

meal 3- tuna
potatoes
milk
vegetables

meal 4- Steak
nuts

meal 5 -3 eggs
nuts
milk(whole)

So ya, the basic idea being to keep most of my carbs in the morning and to not mix carbs/fat. I find if I cut the carbs out after around 5 then I sleep much better also.
So pretty much want to have it down to a science and weigh the food out so I know exactly how many cals Im getting ect.., I think if I do this my progress is going to really take off.

Goal is to first put back on my lost weight and then continue up to around 230. Long term goal being to weigh a very lean 200.

stats
17 years/old