Simple Cocktails? Favorite Drinks?

So, I’m trying to expand my drinking palate some. I actually posted the beer post on here that was super popular, more than I thought, maybe I’ll get lucky again.

I’m a liquor newb. I’m also kinda on a budget, and I’ve tried looking through some sites, asking ABC workers (lol) and it’s a total fail in all categories.

I started out with mixed (girly) drinks and bland beers, as ever college guy does I think. Imperial russian stouts are by far my favorite beer so far, 6 years later… but I’m still stuck on the old rum and coke, capn n coke at home.

I like rum and vodka, and with some searching I’ve found some ok things to try. Titos is a great vodka for a good price, and my girl loves it, too. I still buy Captain Morgen when I am lazily searching the ABC store. Maybe something flavored if I want friends over, 3 Olives has been a party pleaser.

I used to only like whiskeys for cooking, inspired no doubt by J.D. BBQ sauce from restaurants (to be honest I still don’t know the difference off the top of my head what classifies a bourbon, from whiskey, and all the others, etc.) but I’m stuck on Old Fashions as of lately, after I decided on a whim to buy stuff 2 weeks ago, and I really like Bushmills. Went to a wedding and had Makers Mark, and I prefer the Bushmills over that, surprisingly.

So anyway. What are your favorite cocktails? Brands of liquor? Browsed a site that was simple, that actually had shit normal people have heard of? (browsed Savuer.com’s top cocktail blogs, and I quit after seeing complicated shit)
Also, keep in mind the price range. I simply won’t drink if I can only afford bottom shelf shit, but I’ll pay for generic shit, I think they all top out at $25-$30/handle?

Thanks fellahs

If you want to move into brown liquor cocktails, you can’t go wrong with Manhattans/Old Fashioneds/Whiskey Sours, from least sweet to sweetest. You can sweeten up a Manhattan by using SoCo as well.

I’m a pretty big cocktail drinker.