T Nation

Simple Chest Sessions?

For example, just 2-3 heavy 4 setted exercises. I do Flat DB bench for 4-5 sets and Incline DB bench for 4-5 sets. The soreness teh day after is pretty high (in a good way), but will this be enough for growth as long as the weights and rep ranges change around every few weeks?

I was thinking about flyes, but heard they are crap for your Rotator cuffs and shoulders. I have a home gym, but don't have cable machines etc, so any other chest exercises would be cool.

I don't think I can do decline either though as my seat does not go down as it should for such a movement. Would doing 5 sets on flat and incline be enough for growth, or not? I know it differs, but just interesting to know. I've been training for roughly 4-5 months seriously now. Thanks!

Yes the amount of sets will be enough for you to grow but not forever. Doing the same thing will not inhibit continous growth.

Try different things and you will find what works better for you.

Okay thanks. So what you are saying basically is that using those two exercises over a long period of time, the growth will slow down, but growth will still occur. So, for example, in 1 year I could still gain an inch on my chest, but using different exercises etc to shock the muscle more, I will get greater growth?

Yes some growth will still occur. But in order for muscle to grow it needs to experience a stimulus that it is not used to.

So, while you can stick with two excercises if you wish, but doing them forever will not make you grow forever(to your maximum). Which means if you keep increasing the weight(or the reps/sets or a combination) on the 2 excercises, you will of course grow somewhat but not as much as changing it up every now and then.

I use DB flat, incline, decline, and flys (incline and flat) and have never stalled. I mean... you really don't have THAT many serious options for chest. You're not going to put on a lot of size doing cable crossovers.