Simo Survives Super Squats

Those of you who follow my training log will know I have just finished 6 weeks of the Super Squats program. I promised I would do a write up and share my thoughts about the last 6 weeks. There is quite a bit here so sorry for the long post. Hope you enjoy reading it as much as I enjoyed running it.

Firstly for those who don’t read my log, a little about me. I am a 47 year old husband and father of three, who has a full time job 5 days a week and a bunch of other family commitments outside of work. One of the kids has just started high school and the other two are still at primary school. Why tell you that, well I guess I wanted to convey that I am not in the prime of my life where muscle building is concerned, that training is only a small part of my overall week and that I don’t live at home with my mum and have lots of time to sit around on the couch.

I have been lifting weights on and off for 30+ years but have taken many breaks in that time (some of them for multiple years), most recently I have been training in the gym consistently 2 to 3 days a week, for nearly 6 years prior to running super squats. My usual training is focused on building strength, in particular for powerlifting.
I remember first seeing the Super Squat program back in the early 90’s when squatting to get big was all the rage. At that time, I was running the typical 4 day a week bro split so wasn’t really interested. More recently @T3hPwnisher on here got me interested in this program and @tlgains ran the program which further peaked my interest.

As part of my usual training year, I will run one or two hypertrophy blocks, so figured why not run this as one of those blocks. I bought the Ebook and read it many times before committing to the program. I decided that given my age it felt like now or never for me to have a red hot go at it.