Sibellius's Weight Loss Training Log

This is my second log as the first one was done when there was a lot of things that came up that really disrupted any chance of having a regular routine.

So a little background, I’m 20 years old, 6’2" 220 lbs, probably 23%-26% BF. I work full time and live with a couple roommates, my “gym” is my backyard, where I have a bench that modifies into a squat rack, a bar, and some dumbbells.

One thing that I’m ashamed to admit at this point is I’m also a US Marine currently on reserve duty. I’ve been in for over a year now, with a very good chance I’ll be deploying to Iraq this summer.

I’ve never been in great shape, peaking at around 238 pounds right out of high school. I dropped about 18 pounds to get into boot camp, and lost those remaining 18 when I graduated.

Once I got out of all the training, I easily packed the 20 back on by just getting out to parties and pounding beers. I’m still able to pass the Marine physical fitness test (minimums are 3 pullups, 65 crunches in two minutes, and 3 mile run in less then 28:00), but just barely.

Being overweight in the Marines, severely affects everything you do. Your fellow Marines completely devalue your opinion and it can affect everything from your promotions to your pay. The weight limit for my height is 213, so I’m obviously in trouble.

So after reading all the great articles on here, the physique clinic (after trying to get in myself, Bartl’s transformation was awesome), and just reading the forums, I think I’ve come up with a plan.

My current diet is high protein, low carb. I try to limit everything to meat, green veggies, and the protein shakes. Essentially it is the T-Dawg diet but it almost seems like its just the fundamentals for any diet, nothing special. I do follow the carb guidelines, 100 on workout days, 70 on non workouts.