Shoulders and the Aging Lifter

I figured this is a great place for this question/topic since many of us have been lifting for a long time. I started lifting when I was 18 and I am 49 now. I blew out my back and eventually had surgery so there was a few years break, but other than that I have been a pretty consistent gym rat (although I am now in the process of building a home gym).

One of the consequences of that is I have achy shoulders. Nothing debilitating, they are just achy and sore sometimes. If I sleep wrong, like with my arm over my head, they get really achy. If I hang on the pullup bar- they scream pretty loud. I have read about 500 different articles on shoulder health from miofacial release to stretches. What I am wondering is, do any of you have things you do for your shoulders (or joints in general) that seem to help? Band exercises? Glucosamine? What do you do to help your shoulders?

Does your gym have a bamboo bar? If so, hang a 25lb plate from each side and do 100 reps (25 rep sets). Great for shoulder rehab.

Hi Willly,

Everything your describing i experience too, ive an impingement. Best thing i did was eliminate any exercises that irritate it, for me that means no benching or flyes, and overhead pressing with a parallel grip. When i does flair up i go with static holds which seems to help. Ive done banded and stability exercises till the cows came home, they didnt help in the slightest, perhaps others have hsd a different experience, but then again, perhaps their injury was different too mine.

Best
Rob

I’m 55 and I’ve had 3 RC surgeries. Like the others said you probably have an impingement somewhere. Most likely a bone spur.

My suggestion to you is, keep your hands in neutral position as much as possible and reduce your weight significantly and increase your reps. You can still achieve muscle activation and reduce the impacts to your tendons.

It wouldn’t be a terrible idea to have a good ortho surgeon evaluate you and maybe get an MRI.