Shoulder Width Help

I’ve been lifting for 30 years, and don’t want to get close minded on new routines, what routine would you suggest for width, i started doing military presses feel nothing but pain, but i went from not doing them for 10 years to 220 x 2. I used to 265 x 5.

search “growth factor shoulders, width”
/thread

2 rep shoulder presses? That’s your problem right there. Deltoids do well with more volume. Shoulder width itself is genetic, you either have it or you don’t. I don’t, so I’ve learned to focus on having an overall good physique rather than worrying about one single trait.

Thanks, i think you are right, I got good width but need to diet down trim the midsection. As for as volume that would explain why guy’s in NBA got crazy delts, plus freak genetics.

I’ve wondered about NBA player’s delts too. Half of them walk around the court like taller versions of Steve Reeves. Then some of them are just average built and don’t have huge delts. I think alot of them just have good delt genetics, party due to having such long limbs and long muscle bellies, including long deltoid muscle insertions, which allows them to have way better delt growth potential than someone with a relatively short delt muscle insertion. Plus another thing is alot of athletes do alot of bodybuilding type workouts, plenty of volume and pumping up, yet still getting strong.

I came up in powerlifting Olympic lifting need to change up mentality in training instead of moving weight, train for hypertrophy , i saw a video of cutler lifting didn’t go over 405 for deadlift and squats, doesn’t have gut like Ronnie Coleman. My next workout sat going to focus on volume yeah it would be awesome to have LeBron James build.