Shoulder Pain When Jerking

I’m a beginner weightlifter and now have a chronic shoulder pain which I think is caused by jerking or other overhead shoulder exercises done in high speed (usually with a leg drive). The pain is located on top of my shoulders in a bony area (I think it’s called “acromion”).

Outside training, my shoulders are actually OK because the pain emerges only in certain ways. One way to reproduce it is to hold my arms straight then bring them to the back of my head. I read that sharp pain in certain ROM means injury, is that true?

I’m curious about what causing the pain is, my humerus bangs the acromion when jerking or something? Slow controlled shoulder exercises definitely don’t make my shoulders hurt. Do you think slow overhead pressing would help (or perhaps makes it worse) or is it just something that my shoulders have to get used to?

Thanks.

Hmm I don’t know how my form looks like since I never record it. I think I’ll do those shoulder mobility exercises (Cressey comes to mind).

BTW do you think that if my mobility doesn’t improve but I continue to do jerks my shoulders will just get worse?

I think they will get worse but perhaps by training the jerk itself my mobility could improve? Just a hypothetical question because I’m gonna do those mobility exercises.

[quote]bushidobadboy wrote:

[quote]Paperclip wrote:
BTW do you think that if my mobility doesn’t improve but I continue to do jerks my shoulders will just get worse?[/quote]

What do you think, lol?

BBB[/quote]

hello bbb i have been trying to contact you via pm but it seems like the mesages are not going through could you please contsct me. it is about a very serius problem i am facing

thank you very much

I don’t have anything to contribute I just wanted to say the title of this thread made me laugh. :slight_smile:

[quote]dumbbellhead wrote:
I don’t have anything to contribute I just wanted to say the title of this thread made me laugh. :)[/quote]