T Nation

Shoulder Injury

Hey guys this is my first time posting, but I've been reading T-Nation for a couple years and using several of the techniques and programs. I've run into a problem with a shoulder injury that I'm hoping someone can help me with. I was gaining stregnth very quickly and all of the sudden my shoulder started hurting one night. not sure how i did it but its been hurt for about 2 weeks, i took last week completely off and went back today to see if the pain was still there and it was.

It does not hurt at all when I move it around, I have full range of motion. The pain only comes when I am doing any kind of chest excercise even pushups. Its like deep inside and located toward the front of my shoulder and about middle ways across. It even hurts doing flyes which has me confused. Anyone have any ideas on what I should try? Should i just avoid chest and shoulders for another week or two and do legs and cardio or what? Any advice is greatly appreciated in advance.

Darren,

I understand what type of pain you may be feeling. I've become damn near an expert on the shoulder since i've had 4 shoulder surgeries for recurring instability leading to dislocations.

In your situation I would figure out what motions/exercises casuses the pain to flare up and in the mean-time I'd take it easy (me speaking from experience). It's possible you've just strained a part of your shoulder, but it also sounds possible you could have done something to the labrum (because of the location you said the pain is in). If it doesn't get better after 2+ weeks of taking it easy, I would see a doctor atleast. I say this because you don't want a possible small problem to create a large long-term problem. Just my 2 cents man. Take care.

Darren,