T Nation

Shoulder Injury

I don’t know if this is the right section to place this but here it goes.

I started lifting again in August after a two year layoff. During that layoff I had a seizure and disloacted my shoulder. I was unable to get it looked at by an ortho until a month ago and got the results back yesterday. My labrum is badly torn and there’s an issue with a chunk of my bone being broke off. The last 4 months I’ve worked SO hard trying to get back to where I was and I’ve put on 18lbs even with the injury.

I’m very proud of the bulk I’ve put on my legs, chest, and back. The ortho said I need to have the surgery. I feel completely derailed right now and need help getting through this losing as little muscle as possible. Surgery is set as soon as finals are over in Dec.

Until then do I stay with the bulking diet and do whatever my body allows me to do in the gym? Or do I stop it all and wait till it’s fixed. I’m really scared of losing what I’ve worked so hard for and have no expierence dealing with injuries.

It’s a sad day for me fellas. Luckily today is leg day and I get to vent my frustrations in the squat rack. Do you guys have an insight on dealing with this?

Definitely keep training for now, doing whatever you can do pain-free. The better condition you’re in, the faster you can heal from surgery. Training boosts your immune system, etc. It doesn’t make sense to stop training altogether… if you stop training, when you do come back to the gym post-surgery, you’ll be in an even deeper hole.