Shoulder Has Been Hurting for Sometime

well my shoulder has been hurting for sometime, it hasnt really been too bad just a dull ache, doesnt really hurt much when i do bench, but afterwards i get a dull ache, it feels like my side delt or maybe even my rear delt because when i press hard on the rear delt that’s the only time i can touch the spot where it hurts, also the only time i really feel pain is when i get a deep stretch such as at the bottom of a dip or trying to pull my right arm back as far as i can,

my question is, i have been going light for a few weeks and have actually taken 2 weeks off from lifting, my shoulder feels a lot better but not 100%, so what should i do? back off from pressing altogether? or just keep it light, also what about shoulder work? would shoulder work such as delt raises help or hurt recovery? just really confused on what to do as far as training, thanks for everything

I had pain in my left shoulder as well when I started lifting, and I don’t know shit about shoulder mechanics and injuries, but there are 3 things you should do:

1. focusing on correct technique when benching
  2. doing military presses and bent-over barbell rows as regular parts of your workout
  3. pull your shoulders into their sockets when doing pullups

If you do these things and it isn’t getting better it may be a more serious issue. It worked for me, I think contracting the lat and back during bench pressing and doing the barbell row (the exact opposite plane of movement) did the trick.

thanks for the advice man, not trying to sound like a know it all here but my form is pretty good i dont think thats what caused it i think it was going heavy and hitting singles for too many weeks and something went wrong, i want to think its just inflammation but i dont know much about injuries and shit, i think what im going to do when i heal up is trade my speed bench day for a shoulder day, maybe this will be more beneficial?